Putting My Money Where My Mouth Is – Who I Am Supporting This Year

December 12, 2011 at 1:55 pm (Actions) (, , , , )

This year, as people are becoming more and more aware of how much collective choices about money can impact people and things (think Occupy Wall Street and the Move Your Money project), it’s important to understand that giving money to awesome organizations is as important as withholding our money from bad corporations.

Every December I give away donations that equal just 1% of my annual income. It sounds like a pittance, but if we all did it… well, it wouldn’t be a pittance then. And it would make a difference.

No time to really get into it all right now, but for more of my thoughts, see my posts from 2010, 2009, and 2008.

Here are my 2011 choices:

  • The National Lawyers Guild – They have been working overtime this year helping out all those thousands of people who got arrested at Occupy protests around the U.S., as well as all of their normal cool stuff. They help us out, and we should help them out too. Here’s a link to their donate page.
  • Riseup – A perpetual choice. This small collective that provides free, secure email, list, and hosting services to the radical community. Just the email accounts alone they provide allow the global justice community to survive, and they are keeping us out of the Google empire. Go directly to their donate page here.
  • The Electronic Frontier Foundation - Still the coolest. In addition to awesome posts like this “Know Your Rights” summary from this summer, they work on things like legislation and lawsuits that directly impact us all. Their donate page is here.

And as usual, here are the magazines that I subscribe to. Subscriptions are the best way for you to support these vital publications! I choose to support: The Atlantic, Mother Jones, The Sun Magazine; Upping the Anti; Yes! Magazine, and Cooks Illustrated – several of those don’t accept advertisements and rely solely on our support. (And I also subscribe to Food & Wine and Real Simple and a host of others, but I don’t think they need your support so much!).

I don’t care who you give money to this year, but please give a little to someone. And yes, I totally love the movie “It’s a Wonderful Life.”

Happy Holidays!

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    what money?

  2. Supporting Ourselves – Year End Donations 2012 « Aid & Abet said,

    [...] year I’m tempted to just repeat everything I said last year, and I will be making donations again to all of those same places – The National Lawyers [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

