On Anniversaries

November 22, 2009 at 11:29 am (People) (, , )

 

Thursday was the anniversary of my dad’s death. Last year, I wrote a post about it a few weeks after he died and always intended to write more, and though I’m not quite sure I’m ready, I don’t feel I can really let the anniversary go by without marking it.

So, on anniversaries. Taking time to do something special or to memorialize a person in some way seems important, but at the same time, it’s not as if I don’t think about him every day. What did happen was that as the day approached I started remembering everything that was going on last year and feeling a lot of anxiety – just remembering the events brought those emotions forward to the present. I think about how difficult his life was in the last few years, when he his body was working against him and he was struggling to find meaning in his life. I marvel at how strong my mom is. I also found it very difficult to talk about with people, but I miss him.

I guess that’s all I really have to say about it right now. The photo here is of my dad as a baby, with his parents, likely taken where they lived in Detroit, Michigan. This photo was probably taken around 1944. His parents were German immigrants who ran a grocery store. They both died before I was born. He had six older brothers and sisters, the youngest of which was 13 years older than him, and many of them have passed away.

* * *

I haven’t been post much for some time, and I’ve been thinking a lot about this blog and how to focus it and what I want it to be. I’m working on a lot of projects and hope to post about them here, soon, and to do more posts about things that I think are good or exciting. I am trying to resist the tendency for people to let Facebook take over their lives and become the dominant way that they share with people – in a kind of closed, in-crowd kind of way, managed and controlled by a corporation.

While I get things organized, you can check out what I’ve been doing with Aid & Abet – aside from helping groups with finance (which I actually like to do) – Aid & Abet is my main project at the moment, aside from trying to live my life in a fully engaged way that involves a lot of friends, books, traveling, and all that. We’ll be redesigning the website early in 2010, and of course, you’ll hear all about it here.

2 Comments

  1. cheryl stafford said,

    that’s what I think immortality is Jen–the thoughts and emeories that the living carry with them about our beloved who have died. As you may know, my dad died last April. So with some understanding, my thoughts are with you.

  2. Jen Angel said,

    Thanks so much for your thoughts Cheryl, and nice to hear from you – it’s been too long. Yes, immortality.

Leave a Reply

