Aiding & Abetting

February 15, 2010 at 12:57 pm (Announcements, Projects) (, , , , , , )

Well, it’s finally time for me to make an update on all the things I have been doing in the last few weeks.

Although I often joke and say that I have 10 jobs, really my main job is to help awesome authors & filmmakers promote their work through events and other outreach. I work with a few other really cool folks, and we have a group called Aid & Abet. I know, this is not news. I’m just trying to get everyone on the same page here.

Well, I am absolutely thrilled to announce that today we relaunched the Aid & Abet website – it’s at www.aidandabet.org and I absolutely love it. The designer is Derek Hogue and I will highly recommend him to anyone who wants a new site or a redesign. Not only does it look great, but the user interface is amazing and easy to use.

Second, along with the new site, today we are announcing the release of a new booklet – Get Noticed! How to Publicize Your Book or Film – designed for all of our friends (including many of you) who have your own projects and don’t want to or can’t afford to hire a PR firm to do publicity for you. There is tons of info in it and it’ll be helpful for anyone who has a book, project, or film to promote. It’s available as a PDF download or as a printed booklet, and you can find out more about it at: http://aidandabet.org/resources/get-noticed/.

This is a great resource for anyone who has a project to promote, and I’m sure once we well all the copies we’ll update it and make a new one. I also wanted to comment that the purpose of the booklet is to give you the skills to have control over your project – and there are still plenty of reasons to work with a publicist or booking agency (like Aid & Abet). What we offer is experience and existing relationships with media outlets and event coordinators. Plus, many people are uncomfortable promoting themselves or negotiating a speakers fee with a school or venue. Or, maybe you just don’t have time (or don’t want) to do it yourself.

Leave a Reply

